Worth it for gaming? Or stick with 7?

Status
Not open for further replies.

OptyFM

Honorable
Jul 21, 2012
7 has been the best thing for gaming since Windows XP. ME, and VISTA were complete garbage. I didn't upgrade to 7 until DX11 games started hitting the shelves.

I'm wondering if I should just say oh f*** it and buy windows 8 in October (I think it is?) or just wait o_o

Solution
For gaming? My opinion, and I'm no expert, would be to wait, as there seems to be some rather robust debate going on about it's usefulness to gamers. Couple this with the fact that there aren't many (or any that I'm aware of) games that are listed as W8 compatible. As I say, I'm no expert and that's just my opinion.
There was nothing wrong with Vista for gaming. There was something horribly wrong with application developers and OEMs who put Vista on hardware that would have a hard time running XP SP3.

Windows 8 won't really bring anything new to the table. Microsoft set the bar very high with Windows 7 and there's not really any core improvements in Windows 8 that say "you need to upgrade" like there were from XP to Vista and to a lesser extent Vista to 7.

a little black duck

Distinguished
Oct 31, 2011
For gaming? My opinion, and I'm no expert, would be to wait, as there seems to be some rather robust debate going on about it's usefulness to gamers. Couple this with the fact that there aren't many (or any that I'm aware of) games that are listed as W8 compatible. As I say, I'm no expert and that's just my opinion.

Solution

OptyFM

Honorable
Jul 21, 2012
What about something like Directx 12? I'm guessing that would be W8 Only. but for now, there's no real improvement? at all? It looks like the new metro interface is made for touch screens and tablets. Is that all that's really changed? The standard windows interface looks the same too

OptyFM

Honorable
Jul 21, 2012