Sign in with
Your question

CPU Overheat out of box?

Last response: in CPUs
June 30, 2002 1:51:46 AM

Hey, I recently bought a new motherboard and athlon xp 1800 cpu. upon installing it, with the heatsink that came with the retail box, I find my idle tempature is around 68c!! I know athlons run hot, but not this hot... so I went and bought a larger high performance copper heatsink rated to 2100+, and installed it, but my tempatures are still 64c idle. I've properly mounted the heatsink over the processsor, put thin, thick, medium sized, and super-sized amounts of thermal paste on (I've remounted this thing about 19 times in hopes of the problem dissapearing). the motherboard I have (a abit nvidia based one) has a tempature diode under the processor that I've pressed up, down, put paste on, everything, in hopes that the readout was inaccurate....... but all this to no avail...

I've been working with computers for about 6 years now doing hardware repairs, so I wouldn't think it'd be anything stupid, but I really can't think of what this problem could be caused by@#%!@

someone have any ideas??

More about : cpu overheat box

June 30, 2002 2:01:43 AM

I did the same but with a Athlon 1Ghz, using the AMD heatsink that came in the box and it runs at 64C at full load and at 50C idle, trust me the heat sinks included in those boxes are aluminium rubbish with a fan, the word is cheap, I never replaced my fan and the system is nearly two years old and still running. If you weant cooler by a decent heatsink.

I would recommend a copper one but it must not be too heavy or it will crush the core (however I have never heard of this problem occuring). Check the AMD website it will list some approved heatsinks.

I not sure what one is best so maybe someone else can suggest a decent heatsink?
June 30, 2002 2:17:53 AM