Sign in with
Your question

Overclockers Unite!!(I need help)

Last response: in CPUs
July 7, 2002 8:37:32 PM

Well, I'm pretty sure I'm gonna be buying some computer parts. I haven't left on my "vacation" yet, but I wanna firm up my component list before I do anything stupid.(I might get these things on my vacation if I can find some good prices)

Ok here's what it is I wanna a P4 system that I'm gonna be overclocking.

P4 1.8A 512K L2 cache
ABIT BD7II i845E Motherboard
256/512MB PC2700 DDR333 RAM
40GB Maxtor 7200RPM HDD
case and 350W Enermax PSU
Sony 52X CD-ROM
MSI GeForce4 Ti4200 128MB

I think that's it. It's about $1000 some Canadian, and this is kinda my test rig. (I've never built my own comp before)

Now my question is, how do you guys overclock. I don't want to burn this comp, cause I'll lose confidence forever. :frown: I mean do you take it as far as the FSB will go til it doesn't POST, or do you set a goal and when you get there, do you stop? Is there any chance of burning the CPU after one lock-up? Thanks a lot.

Also how does the system look? It's not gonna be a powermonger, but just something that'll get me by til Doom]|[. I already have a keyboard, mouse, floppy drive, sound card, network card, monitor, and speakers. I might wait for RV250 to see also, but anyways.

Thanks in advance for the help!!

:smile: Falling down stairs saves time :smile:

More about : overclockers unite

a b à CPUs
July 7, 2002 9:07:50 PM

First thing, try overclocking it to 133MHz FSB, this is a standard setting for that chipset where nothing but the CPU is overclocked. If it post at standard voltage, great! If not, try rasing the voltage to 1.65v. It should boot easily at that voltage. Now check your temps in BIOS. If it's under roughly 55C you good to go for pushing it further. Push it till it craps out, then back it down to where it runs stable. You won't hurt that CPU, you'll get a system lock first.