Can System Config make hardware slower?

jtate

Distinguished
Jul 16, 2002
I am curious, I just got a p4b266 with a 2.0 Intel proc in it, and used to have an A7V333 with a 1.73 AMD in it, untill it died. I have noticed an incredible decline in speed, since switching. I am an animator and when rendering for 2 days I get 10 frames done and when I rendered before with the AMD I would get 50 done. SO would the two motherboards combos be soo much different or could it be some kind of configuration problem?

phsstpok

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007
Don't know much about animation and rendering. What I do know is that for the P4 to shine your software needs to be SSE2 optimized. Without this the P4 is handicapped by a weak x87 floating point unit. Clock for clock the floating point unit of the P4 is only about half as strong as that of the Athlon XP.

These differences don't explain 10 frames for the P4 vs 50 frames for the Athlon XP! (I'll be curious what other people have to say about this). Without SSE2 optimization the P4 at 2.0 ghz should render at about 60% of the Athlon XP at 1.73 ghz. With SSE2 the P4 should be ahead.

Not that I would know the difference but what software are you using to do rendering.

<b>I have so many cookies I now have a FAT problem!</b><P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by phsstpok on 07/16/02 08:19 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

AMD_Man

Splendid
Jul 3, 2001
You're probably running it with DDR266 which kills some performance. The P4 wants DDR333 and up or RDRAM.

Also, did you install the chipset drivers and the Intel Application Accelerator?

:wink: <b><i>"A penny saved is a penny earned!"</i></b> :wink:

blue_heart

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2001
Also, did you install the chipset drivers and the <b>Intel Application Accelerator</b>?

As i know IAA is being used with Intel chipset only not via, and the motherboard type here is of via chipset

wish if there was UnDo in the life

blue_heart

Distinguished
Oct 29, 2001