Sign in with
Your question

p4 ram?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
July 19, 2002 4:16:25 AM

Newbie here! Have P4-1.6a O/C to a 1.984 V-core @ 1.75 Mobo=845brookdale, Mem-640 SDram(unfortunately), runs idle at 46 C and 32 C. Running on reg. air w/2 extra case fans. When running Quake 3, Vid card locks up after 5 min.(Radeon 7200) After reboot, temp of CPU is only 58 C... Why is card locking up? Thanx!!!
overclocked?????( can that even happen...haha)sorry;asus@400mhz.
<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by Toester on 07/19/02 01:01 AM.</EM></FONT></P>

More about : ram

July 19, 2002 5:37:09 AM

cpu temp has nothing to do with video card temps.

i suggest you leve the side of your case off, and/or get a fan/hairdryer to blow cool air at the video card. if stability improves then your video card is overheating.

i also advise running a cpu intensive application like RC5, seti@home or prime95 to stress test your cpu/ram/motherboard and PSU.
if your computer locks up running those then its NOT the graphics card at fault.

Ego: Check
Rose hued glasses: Check
Fanboy Button: Check
CPU forum, here i come! :smile:
July 19, 2002 1:23:47 PM

thx, LHGpoobaa---------will giv er a try!!

:) 
Related resources
July 19, 2002 1:30:53 PM

1.75V for going from 1.6A to 2.0? Try lowering the voltages, it'll make the core last longer. Lowest possible voltages while being stable is best.

:smile: Falling down stairs saves time :smile:
a b à CPUs
July 19, 2002 8:04:14 PM

Dude, you're getting a Dell. No, but seriously, you should drop the core voltage to 1.65v or less and raise the bus speed to exactly 133MHz. That should make all the options for your board available, at 133MHz FSB your PCI bus will operate within spec when using the 1/4 divider and your AGP will run withing spec using the 1/2 divider. Any other ratios are wrong and will result in either instability or poor performance.