upgrade

metlhed

Distinguished
Jul 19, 2002
Hi everyone I am a newbie here and I am trying to upgrade this HP Pavilion 3266 from a Pentium mmx 233 to a amd k6-2 400 but am unable to find any support for the jumpers settings. Maybe someone knows where I could look for this or if I'm crazy for trying. Now this motherboard has no FCC id or manufacturers part number or any number I could find to help identify who made the board or do anything with it. I tried adjusting some of the jumpers following the printed data on the board, to no avail. Any help here would be immensly appreciated.

Crashman

Polypheme
Former Staff
<A HREF="http://www.hp.com/cposupport/personal_computing/support_doc/bph03721.html" target="_new">http://www.hp.com/cposupport/personal_computing/support_doc/bph03721.html</A>

But that page doesn't give you all the information you really need. I can.

OK, first of all, I've set up many K6-2 systems with 2.8v core setting instead of 2.2v, when the lower settings were not available. I have found this to be very reliable when you cool the CPU properly. Because the CPU will produce a great amount of heat at 2.8v, you will need to use a very large cooler. I recomend an AMD Socket A type cooler, as used for Durons, Thunderbirds, and XP's. Yes, the larger cooler WILL FIT, even though most techs don't know this. You don't need a fancy one, the cheap $10 Duron coolers work fine, much better than any traditional Socket 7 cooler.

Now, the page doesn't give you the proper multiplier settings either. The K6-2 series starting at about 350MHz could use a little built in conversion factor, where 2x on the board is 6x on the CPU. Known by many as the 2x=6x trick, it's actually a designed in feature to make the CPU compatable with older boards such as yours. For the 2x multiplier, move JBF0 to 2-3, JBF1 stays at 1-2, JBF2 stays at 1-2.

That's it! Just move JBF0 to 2-3 and mount a big cooler on the K6-2 400, and 400MHz is yours!