SammyBoy

Distinguished
Mar 16, 2001
Well, I realize that this is a forum of enthusiasts, and not entrepreneurs (though there are probably some lurking), but I'm writing this in all seriousness.

I have realized that computers are easy to build and easy to run (not to mention fun to tweak). And I have also realized that most people, at least in 18-24 age group, are willing to learn, especially if they think it will give them an advantage. This extends to computers.

Therefore, while dulling my mind putting round pegs into round holes at work (I work in a factory as a summer temp... please kill me), I thought of the following. Our IT department, due to a campus-wide budget cut, has decided that it will no longer offer any type of software or hardware support/repair, unless it pretains to connecting to the campus network, or other "academic" pursuits. From now on, they will supply us with a list of computer shops and whatnot in the area, which will most likely be 30 miles north of a residential campus, with few cars. See the problem/gold mine?

I just want to build systems, though. I already have built one for a friend, which he has never had to call me for help, which I find very surprising. I have built two for myself, flawless, as well as helped my brother and my father with theirs (forgot to connect the CPU fan on my bro's... big oops... still works, though), and performed countless upgrades. My neighbor is in need of replacing his (cough) P133 with 32MB RAM, trying, pitifully, I might add, to run Office 2K. I'm going to help construct a new machine for him, and he said if that went well, he would have me redo his office computer as well (he also mentioned doing his whole department, but I declined). I have faith in my abilities, and people seem to see that.