taf

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2002
Newbie here...

I'm ready to build my first PC....and am very much undecided on the components. This pc will be primarily used for for surfing the net and on line stock trading. I am not a game player. I have about $700.00 to spend. Of course, I want the best bang for my buck. I'm mostly concerned about the cpu & mb. All comments are welcomed. Thanks to all...

I would go for an sis 645 or 645dx chipset board and P4 1.6a to run at 133 fsb for overclocking, or wait for the next Intel price drops, which will come around sept 1st. Someone reported that a recent article in the inquirer expected the 2.53 to drop to about $250-275, about half what it is now.

10GHZ

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2002
i dont' think the guy is gonna overclock his computer, he's not even into gaming. so i think it's better off if he gets a Xp or maybe a Duron setup with 256mb what ever ram, and a decent video card. i live in australia so i dont' know how much stuff costs in the US.. so some one else?

WillD

Distinguished
Jul 23, 2002
Do you already have a monitor? do you need a case? any peripherals?

I have to agree with the previous poster, an intel system would do you well, since they run cooler, more stable. But you could get better bang for your buck with a new AMD XP. I need more info though.

taf

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2002
Hi Willd....Yes, I have a monitor, Maxtor 30 Gig HD, & atx case. My main concern is the cpu, mb & type of ram. I have about $350 to spend on these items. I have no intention to over clock. I'm looking for stability/reliability.

There are so many combinations of cpu/mb ...I have no idea of which to go with. Any opinions are greatly appreciated. Thanks again...

PCcashCow

Distinguished
Jun 19, 2002
do you know what the max output of your power supply? Chipsets theses days need atleast atleast! 300w.

So you need:
video
ram
mobo
cpu
sound
NIC?

Well you can go to www.tcwo.com and get a motherboard bundel with: