Sign in with
Your question

Can I Upgrade to P4?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
August 26, 2002 4:43:34 PM

Hello! - First time poster, been visiting site for over 1.5 years.
I'm a newbie PC hardware enthusiast.
I currently have a PII 350 DIY PC with an ASUS P2B AGP mobo with the Intel 440BX chipset.
I just read on your site that Intel has just released a P4 2.5 & 2.6 processor that runs on a 100MHz FSB. I believe my mobo also has a 100MHz FSB.
Does this mean that I can upgrade to a P4 2.5/2.6 on my existing mobo or am I doing some wishfull thinking?

Any help is always appreciated!

More about : upgrade

August 26, 2002 5:17:39 PM

Sorry to disappoint you but you'll have to forget about any P4 with that mobo. Best case scenario is a FC-PGA P3 Coppermine with a Slotket adapter with onboard voltage regulator.
You're right. First generation P4 required a FSB of 100Mhz, but Quad Pumped to 400Mhz, a speed the mobo doesn't support which requires a whole new configuration. Also, there are no Slot-to-Socket adapters for the P4.
You'll need to change your mobo if you want a P4.

<font color=red>A platform is not an oil rig.</font color=red>
a b à CPUs
August 26, 2002 5:37:13 PM

The fastest CPU you can run in that board is the PIII 1000EB, unless you get an ultra expensive Powerleap IP3/T adapter, which would allow the 1.4GHz PIII Tualatin.

You would otherwize have to ditch the motherboard and power supply, and would be well advised to dump the memory as well, in order to go faster.

<font color=blue>You're posting in a forum with class. It may be third class, but it's still class!</font color=blue>
Related resources
August 26, 2002 5:46:07 PM

Thanks Oracle -

Yeah - I probably have to do a dramatic upgrade in the not too distant future. I just switched from 98 to XP home.