Sign in with
Your question

I want to upgrade my P4, but need help

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
August 27, 2002 7:37:56 AM

I am not a hardware expert like many people here, so my questions to some (if many) might be considered laughable. Be warned.

I bought a P4 1.4 from Dell when they were selling their computers with ME. I believe it is an Intel 850 chipset, but not sure. It uses PC800 Rambus. Anyways, Intel just made a new price cut to all its processors to combat AMD again (gotta love competition), and the P4 2.5 should be going for 200 bucks quite shortly. At that price, I want to buy one.

Anyways, will this "Northwood", as I think the 2.5 is called, fit on my 850? Do I need to flash my BIOS or something? What's with all this .13u stuff? And then there's pins... the 423 pins and the 478 pins. I guess that corresponds with what "socket" (or whatever) my motherboard is suppose to be? I want a 478 socket motherboard, because all the Northwoods are 478. Do I have one? Or because I have an old 850, I'm stuck with some crappy 423? And then there's the 400 MHz FSB and the 533 MHz FSB... I think my 850 is 400, right? So I have to get a 400 MHz FSB, right? The 533 are for 845 boards, right?

In other words, I can't get this processor:
http://www.googlegear.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?Product...

But I can get this one:

Or am I stuck with this crappy one?

Obviously, I want to buy the first one, but if I can install the second one on my board, I'd be happy with that. But ugh... if I'm forced into the third one... BLAH!

Please help.

More about : upgrade

August 27, 2002 7:52:24 AM

You will need to consult with dell with your serial number so they can look up the exact Intel OEM board installed in your machine.

Chances are with a 1.4Ghz CPU, you have a socket 423 motherboard. There is a <A HREF="http://www.powerleap.com/Products/P4N.htm" target="_new">423 to 478 adapter</A> available now that took forever to reach the market.