Sign in with
Your question

Looking for advice on a new socket A MB

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
Anonymous
a b à CPUs
September 22, 2002 6:30:13 PM

Given the delays of Hammer and Barton, I am not postponing my upgrade anymore. Instead of a Hammer, I'll get a Tbred 2200+ (or 2400+ if it becomes available soon enough) to replace my trusty old 1400 tbird. But I could use some advice for a new motherboard, since I'll be giving my current ECS SiS735+1400 Tbird to a friend. I have the following requirements (or lack of requirements) :

*) 4 IDE channels to support my 4 harddisks, DVD and CDRW. No real need for RAID though. In fact, I'd prefer 4 real IDE channels so I could connect a harddisk to each of them, and a CD/DVD as slave (something I couldnt do with an old MSI board + onboard Promise RAID I used to have). I have had some bad experience with IDE raid..
*) I already have 2x256 MB of PC2100 CAS 2. I'd rather keep them, so 400 Mhz memory interface is not an issue for me. 3 or 4 DIMM slots would be nice though..
*) I have a Creative Audigy with Firewire. So onboard sound and/or firewire are not important. Could care less about USB 2.0 either
*) I have a GF4 Ti4200 so no need for onboard VGA
*) Good quality onboard LAN would be welcome
*) The motherboard should have mounting holes and sufficiently space around the cpu for my big MF Swiftech MC462 (the old one, not the smaller new MCX)
*) overclocking possibilities arent that important for me
*) stability *is*. I really want a "zero issue" board, that even with all PCI slots and 4 DIMMs occupied, still is stable.
*) thermal protection would be a big plus. At the very least a BIOS that shuts down above a certain temp to protect from fan failures
*) price is also an issue, though not the most important one.

If someone could point me to some reviews and/or give me motivated advice, I'd be most gratefull.

= The views stated herein are my personal views, and not necessarily the views of my wife. =