Sign in with
Your question

System Failed due to CPU overclocking?? Shibdiah?!

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
November 1, 2002 5:32:08 AM

Hi, this is my first time putting together my computer and I always seem to have bad luck with everything computer realated, this is no exception.

My setup:
AMD Athlon XP 2400+ (OEM)
512 DDR Corsair XMS PC 3200 DDR400 RAM
Asus A7V8X Motherboard
Radeon 9700 Pro
Master HDD: Wester Digital 80 Gig 8Mb Cache 7200RPM
Slave HDD : Maxtor 100 Gig 2 Mb Cache 5400 RPM

All of these items are BRAND new

What happend was when I got it all assembled, coords plugged in, I fired it up, I put in a WinXP Professional Cd (It's been the the "fire" if you know what I mean...) and it formatted my main Harddrive (Western Digital). After it finished it restarted my computer. This is where it gets messed up, it came on RIGHT to the BIOS screen with :CPU Speed: 1500 [It allowed me to switch to Manual-1500-2000-2500 MHz] and to the right of it, it said
"During the last boot up, your system hung from improper CPU speed. Your system is now woring in safe mode. To optimize system performance and reliability, make sure the CPU speed conforms to the specifications of your CPU."
I change it to 2000 and my Ram speed to 400, I hit save changes and exit. With my motherboard it has a Vocal POST thing, and once I closed it It said,
"System failed due to CPU overclocking."
I changed the CPU speed and the memory speed every which way and back again but I still get the same results, teling me I over clocked it, I then checked the jumper settings and they all checked out. I don't even have a clue how to overclock, its my first system I have built and its giving me a headache! Please help :) 

Greatly Appreciated,
T. Gfeller
November 1, 2002 6:26:23 AM

Bios update should fix it,

what is your CPU temp in bios?

Are you able to boot up at slowest speed?

You are limited to what your mind can perceive.
November 1, 2002 8:35:08 AM