Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
November 15, 2002 2:03:26 AM

Current Specs:
ABIT KG7 (AMD761 chipset)
AMD Duron 1.2GHz @ 133MHz FSB
512MB PC2100 RAM @ CL2
GF4 Ti4200

My current system, at least as far as CPU and memory goes, is weak by anyone's standards. As a high school student I don't have much of a "budget" to work with and really can't afford to just grab the latest CPU and motherboard every two months.

What I'm really looking to do is upgrade my CPU now (before the end of 2002) and wait six months or so for the "new generation" (Hammer) of CPU's until I get a whole new setup (mobo/CPU/memory). With that in mind, is it worth it for me to pay $80+ for an AthlonXP? Keep in mind that my VERY dated mobo only supports up to the 2000+ unfortunately, so those shiny new 2200/2400/2600 aren't an option for me.

So considering what I've said, how big of a difference will I see in everyday apps (games, graphics and office software, etc.) from a Duron 1.2 to, say, an XP1900 or 2000 -- and is it worth the money now if I'm going to upgrade everything by next spring or summer?

More about : upgrade advice amd

November 15, 2002 2:10:03 AM

A jump to a XP2000+ would be a worthy boost. Remember you will be getting more than Mhz. The XP has alot more L2 cache that makes demanding tasks far faster, especially games
Also your DDR chipset is one of the better initial ones, so memory bandwidth shouldnt be decent.

The XP2000+ will also nicely complement the Ti4200 you have there. will tide you over for quite some time.

<b>All CDs will be protected and you are a filthy pirate! - <i>Bertelsmann Music Group (BMG)</i>
Serving THGC for over 2 years.</b>
November 15, 2002 3:27:34 AM