Sign in with
Your question

System upgrade, most bang for buck?

Tags:
Last response: in CPUs
November 15, 2002 12:22:47 PM

Hi,

I currently have a Celeron 566 and an Asus p3v4x MB with 1 gig of PC133 ram.

This system is old and I need an upgrade!
I'm a multimedia design student so I demand good performance from my machine within my budget. I use these apps every day; Photoshop, Dreamweaver, Flash, Sound Forge, Illustrator, FileMaker Pro, have at least 3 brower windows open, winamp, burning cds, etc.
I always have lots of apps running, I'm a heavy user.

Here is my budget: $700 Canadian
What I need to get:
CPU
Memory
Motherboard
Case
Power Supply
Fans

I'm thinking of getting a dual Athalon XP 2000+ system with minimum of 512 megs ram. For my use, would I notice a difference with a dual system?

Can anyone recommend a good motherboard/ram/case to go with this setup and within my budget?

I want to have the upgrade by the start of January.
November 15, 2002 12:44:31 PM

with athlon the Nforce 2 platform is the way to go, with that chip however (2000+) you won't see much performance increase caus is just can't take the bandwidth, a decent agp card however can... my advice is to use a good quality 512Mb module in just one slot preferably CAS2 i'll get back on prices and athers

Remember the time You used 20Mb harddrives
November 15, 2002 12:59:31 PM

I should have mentioned this above. My current video card is a Geforce 2 Pro 64 meg with tv out and I plan on keeping it. The only real gaming I do is for Medal of Honor now and then.

Also I forgot to mention that I want the following on my motherboard:

-Firewire
-USB 2
- minimum 5 PCI slots
- AGP 8x support
- latest memory support
-No intergrated video
-No Intergrated sound? (I have a sound blaster Live!)
Related resources
November 15, 2002 1:09:44 PM

why agp 8x with that card i don't even know if that will work

anyway your asking a lot for little money

prices from rytech.ca

cpu 2000+ 199,52$
case 55-60$