Need help choosing a cpu

ahmed

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2002
Hi I'm a 3rd year Computer Science student. So I'm not a bad programmer but I'll fully admit I know little about hardware. I'm currently in the process of getting a new computer. I'll be using it for programming, some graphics programming in a year, some gaming, and then just basic movie watching and whatnot.

This is whats been recommended to me so far by some friends.
AMD 2200+XP
512mb of DDR PC2700
MSI KTV4L VIA KT400 w/ LAN
Volcano 7+
Well actually thats all I'll list cause this is what I'm mainly confused about.

I've never had an AMD system so I don't know if I should go for it or not. I can go to P4 2.53 system for only $120CDN more. So yeah any advice is much appreciated.

Oh, and also I am building the system myself. Or at least my friends are helping with that and I do trust them with that.

halkebul

Distinguished
Sep 11, 2002
Hello. Let me help you out here:

AMD XP 1800+ Thoroughbred core processor RETAIL (Model#: AXDA1800BOX) $75
Two Kingston 256MB DDR333 memory modules $70x2 = $140
Epox 8RDA+ motherboard: Firewire; LAN; USB 2.0 $104

Stay away from VIA chipsets when possible. Use two memory modules in order to take advantage of the dual memory controllers of this motherboard. This motherboard has firewire, but no rear firewire, just onboard headers so make use of its' included firewire bracket. Great overclocking options for this motherboard by the way. Retail cooling is sufficient. All purchasable from <A HREF="http://www.mwave.com" target="_new">MWave</A>. They ship to canada.

<i>It's your world kid!!!</i>

seanchang

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2002
I think you should choose the intel .
P4 2.4 OR 3.06
512M DDR
ASUS GF4 TI 4600
120G WEST DIGITAL OR SEAGATE
ASUS motherboard

MadCarrot

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2002