Looking for a non-gaming laptop for gaming

Status
Not open for further replies.

m1ndkiller

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011
Hey. I'm new here and I'm also new to computer hardware in general so please bear with me.

I want a laptop that can handle modern multiplayer video games on decent settings (Starcraft 2, Team Fortress 2, etc). However, I'd like to avoid getting a fancy gaming laptop because of both price and physical size/weight. I already have a good desktop computer for PC gaming so this laptop would be more for casual multiplayer at LANs in addition to the normal uses of a laptop. I'd also like to be able to play good quality video files (can laptops handle 1080p?), but I don't need to run Skyrim on the highest settings.

So, I guess what I'm asking is, what kind of built-in video card would I need for this? Could I get by with a new regular laptop or would I need something from one of the companies that specializes in gaming like Alienware? Other factors like battery life aren't as big a deal but I'd rather stick as close to the current laptop standards as possible rather than opting for a super-heavy short-battery gaming computer that's basically meant to replace your desktop.

I also noticed the suggested questions in the FAQ so I'll fill them in below:

1. What is your budget?
$1000 or less but I can compromise

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?
Not sure. Just not too big.

3. What screen resolution do you want?
720p

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?
portable

5. How much battery life do you need?
Doesn't really matter. 2 hours I guess.

6. Do you want to play games with your laptop? If so then please list the games that you want to with the settings that you want for these games. (Low,Medium or High)?
Most new games (SC2, TF2, etc). Low settings are fine as long as frame rate is constant.

7. What other tasks do you want to do with your laptop? (Photo/Video editing, Etc.)
Playing HD videos.