Radeon 7500 vs Geforce MX440

Hello,

I'm currently using a Radeon 7500 video card with 64mb DDR and I'd very much like to upgrade soon.

I've been considering the Nvidia Geforce 4 MX440, and since I have no experience with the card I'd like to hear some of your opinions. Will I notice a drastic a change in performance over the Radeon? What other cards would you recommend for someone on a budget?

Thanks in advance,

--
Stephen "Skeletor" Laughlin
skeletor05@ftml.net
11 answers Last reply
More about radeon 7500 geforce mx440
  1. You won't see a large increase in performance by going to an MX440. In some cases, the 7500 will be faster. What are your system specs and what is your budget for a video card? If you let us know, we can help you better.
  2. Soyo SY-7VCA motherboard
    800mhz Pentium III CPU
    256mb RAM
    Creative SoundBlaster Live! soundcard.

My budget for a video card is ideally below $100, with a maximum of about $150. I'll be using it first and foremost for the purposes of playing games. I don't watch DVDs on my PC, and I don't really have a need for TV-in or out, or any gizmos of that sort.
  3. With that kind of budget, I'd get a GF4 Ti4200...
  4. The Radeon DDR went head to head with the GeForce2 GTS, I think the 7500 is quite a step up for the old Radeon DDR core, while the MX440 has little if anything over the GTS it's based on.

<font color=blue>You're posting in a forum with class. It may be third class, but it's still class!</font color=blue>
  5. very true

the 7500 radeon unfortunately underrated. its got quite a wallop to it, considering its age and class...

if i were to buy an older card (pre DX.8) that would be the one...

tho i hear the gf4 mx460 is pretty fast, comparable to the gf3ti200 in terms of speed (it lacking dx8 also)
  6. Get the radeon 8500 275/275, around $90, or try to get a radeon 8500le 250/250, around $70. They both are direct x 8 support and will outperform any g4 mx series.