Catalyst 3.0 drivers, don't install!

I installed the new drivers 3.0, i swear at first i got 8800 with fsaa at 4x and ansitropic at 16x and i thought ok that can't be that bad. i turned everything back to 'best perrfomance" for both directx and opengl and i ran 3dmark again, i got even worst scores! i got 7700 with everything set to best performance in the drivers. 3dmark was at defualt for both besides sound disabled.

installed 2.5 and i got 11,300 with everything set at defualt in the drivers and in 3dmark besides sound was disabled. the 3.0 drivers are horrible don't download them!

Life is irrelivent and irrational.

<A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.html?id=9933" target="_new"> My Rig </A>

RCPilot

Champion
That's exactly why I don't run ATI. There drivers have always sucked & looks like they still do. They did put a lot of PR out though & said it wasn't going to be the case now days, Huh!

I'm still learning & having fun doing it!!!!!!

huh? actally they are fine. you probably never owned an ATI card. The drivers are fine just the 3.0 versions seem mucked up, however someone just said it worked fine for him so perhaps the drivers i installed got currupted.

Your just jealous that my card is faster then yours and has a tv tuner and a bunch of cool software. ;p

<A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/mysystemrig.html?id=9933" target="_new"> My Rig </A>

marneus

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
funnily my 2.5s give me 13164 at defaults wiv a 9700pro
newer 3.0s are available now by the way, poss results funny if run a non 9500/9700 card with the other 3.0s (thats what the text i saw says)

Dx9 also needs installing BTW... 32mb download off zdnet.com

is it summer already ??? oh, its just the heat haze coming off my PC...

like i said i turned it to best performance! with the 2,5 drivers i left it at default. (example of people not knowing how to read) i clearly stated that in my original post.

phsstpok

Splendid
Dec 31, 2007