Display Issues / Which new video card?

tbcarey

Distinguished
Jan 28, 2003
Recently I turned on my computer to find that the display was behaving very erratically in general. Upon booting to any OS (DOS/Linux/WinME/WinXP), the display contains dark grey lines covering almost the entire screen and ghost images that move around in conjunction with open windows. My immediate reaction was to test to see if it was the monitor, even though I suspected the graphics card (due to the moving ghost images), and the monitor worked fine when plugged into my laptop. I then opened up my PC and took a look at my graphics card (OEM Asus AGP v7700 w/ Nvidia GeForce2 GTS chipset) and saw no visible issues. After that I tried downloading Asus SmartDoctor utilities to see if the fan was broken/the card was overheated, but the utilities claim they can't detect an Asus card (I've never used them before since the card is OEM and never came with any Asus utilities, only standard Nvidia drivers).

So, essentially I have no idea why the card would suddenly decide to malfunction in this manner. I haven't changed any settings or added any new devices, and everything else seems to be in working order. Any ideas or probable solutions? Obviously it's OS-independent, as it occurs even during boot-up/BIOS configuration. If anyone can help, please let me know.