Sign in with
Your question

Biased 3DMark03 Article (was NVidia is spoonfeed~

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 14, 2003 2:51:58 AM

Pff... I've been coming to Tom's Hardware for at least three years now, but if Tom allows such grotesquely biased articles as <A HREF="http://www4.tomshardware.com/column/20030213/index.html" target="_new">"3D Mark 2003 - The Gamers' Benchmark (?)"</A> to be published, I, like more and more of my peers, will dismiss the value of this website. You know, I don't know that 'Tom' himself is so biased persay... he is just pretty aloof and doesn't seem to closely monitor his page. He just lets little peons with their own agenda run their own little segment of the site.... and kicks them off if they go too far... Remember Van Smith?

So, I'm hoping he will redeem himself and give Lars a kick out the door! Look at this article from last year:

<A HREF="http://www4.tomshardware.com/blurb/20020825/index.html" target="_new">Tom's Blurb: Battle of Hypocrites</A>

In which he shares his disdain for Van Smith and Kyle Bennett's regurgitating the stories which had been spoon fed by companies that something to gain by the airing of the laundry. This line in particular ironic:

Quote:
I thought "Aha! ATi is cheating. Let's have a look!" I checked it out and indeed, there was something cheesy going on. However, I did not consider the issue serious enough. In fact, I was a bit irritated by the fact that the information about it had come from NVIDIA. If I picked up on this issue, I had to tell the world that it came from NVIDIA and I would do nothing but NVIDIA's marketing job.

Today Tom's site has done just that, NVIDIA's marketing job for them. Tom should be thoroughly disgusted with this. I do not believe one line of the article above was researched by Lars, but rather just regurgitated from NVIDIA's spoon fed PR-spindoctors.