weirdest graphic prob or worse??

Triptonizer

Distinguished
Oct 17, 2001
I'm a music producer who uses his pc daily on a consumer level, here's my problem:

recently I got the weirdest graphic problems (almost daily!), I'll try to decribe them: after working for a while in Cubase or Reaktor (audio progs), the graphics start to blur, more specifically, e.g. the lines that indicate bars and beats disappear leaving a grey mess, waveform displays are also affected (a few pixels instead of solid lines)...
And it gets worse, if I keep the computer running, the OS itself starts acting up, windows appear garbled, the mouse doesn't show up anymore, there's no respons to the keyboard, and finally I have to do a cold reboot.
I have no clue what's going on, I've checked for virusses if that's what you're thinking, could be the graphic card I suppose, but I'm worried it's the hd (could it?)....

Any help greatly appreciated!!

P4 1.5GHz -- NVidia GeForce2 MX400 -- Maxtor DiamondMax Plus UATA/133

selfbuilt

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2003
Sounds like overheating. If you have a diagnostic program that came with your motherboard, you can try running it to monitor the case and CPU temperature (although the graphics card could also be the problem). If they shoot up too high, you are likely to begin experiencing errors.

Another easy test to try is to open the side panel once you start to experience problems and see if that helps (it lets the heat out). It's not recommended running your computer this way, but it would let you know if heat is your problem.