Acer Aspire 5534, Windows 7

Status
Not open for further replies.

Toadill

Distinguished
Dec 27, 2011
Hello everyone I am a newbie here at Tom's Hardware :hello:

I have been fixing computers since windows 95 :bounce:

I am trying to determine weather the hard drive in this computer is shot. Since I do not have college level experience in hardware, I figured I would ask someone with more expertise in the matter. Thank you all ahead of time! :love:

Here is the screen I get when I try to boot the computer normal; it just hangs :??:

So I use the F8 menu and tried everything, and everything leads to the same hang even command prompt :pfff:

As you can see below when I tried the command prompt in hung on the AtiPcie.sys file

I decide to try to boot from cd rom and use the repair disc :)

I am in the f2 menu as you can see the SATA Mode is set to AHCI Mode by default

So I try to use the Windows 7 repair disc :heink:

When I try to use the Windows 7 repair disc in this mode it just hangs on this screen :??:

So I switch the SATA Mode to IDE Mode to see if it makes a difference :D

And it does the repair disc is loaded :eek:

The first thing I try is the Startup repair

and it seems to be doing its thing

After 6 hours I gave up on this :sarcastic:

Next I tried the restore point, NONE :pfff:
I had no image to use.... because the PC is not mine
I tried the memory test, which tested normal
I then tried command prompt and ran a chkdsk D: /f
Chkdsk also hangs around 4% I left this run for at least 10 hours It also reported multiple files were inaccessible

:fou:

I tried to run the windows 7 setup and install a new, even though the files prob aren't all there.

No cd-rom driver found :non:

Any suggestions or comments :pt1cable:

Max1s

Distinguished
May 24, 2011