Sign in with
Your question

Should I get 32 bit or 64 bit?

Last response: in Windows 7
August 20, 2009 7:39:08 AM

Hello. I am a bit of a newbie, and am building a new PC. It will be an i7, probably 6GB ram (but may decide to go 12GB RAM) Primary function will be GAMES!

So, as the title suggests, should I go with Windows 7 32bit or 64 bit?

More about : bit bit

August 20, 2009 7:44:40 AM

64bit for sure, if you go 32bit you will only be able to use about 3.5gb of that RAM and thats just a waste
m
l
August 20, 2009 8:00:53 AM

All new computers should go 64-bit, there's no good reason not to.
m
l
Related resources
August 20, 2009 9:30:02 AM

If this thread gets derailed...
m
l
a c 209 $ Windows 7
August 20, 2009 9:53:00 AM

Absolutely 64 bit, otherwise almost half of that memory will be completely wasted.
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
August 20, 2009 1:33:38 PM

With that much memory, you will need to run a 64 bit version of the OS.
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
August 20, 2009 2:54:32 PM

No doubt about it... 64-bit.
m
l
August 21, 2009 2:43:42 AM

OK then, 64 bit it is. Placing my pre-order as we speak. But why 64 bit? Not that there is a price difference, but I've heard some rumours of driver issues with 64 bit.
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
August 21, 2009 3:01:38 AM

The only issues are with old hardware. Since you're building a new computer, it should be nothing you have to be concerned with... unless you have a really old printer or scanner laying around.
m
l
August 21, 2009 3:10:40 AM

I do have an older printer, an Epson stylus photo. Works just fine in XP, I'll have to check their website I guess.

I was just concerned because there were quite a few topics where some poster was claiming that XP wasa all you need, and any more than 4 GB ram was a waste. As a hobby, I do like to process my own photos, and several people that I know said that the new photoshop loved RAM, the more the faster.
m
l
a c 209 $ Windows 7
August 21, 2009 5:16:54 AM

asdf1234 said: