I have to get a computer from Best Buy.......

Status
Not open for further replies.

wanamingo

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2011
So for Christmas I asked my family to help me out with buying a new laptop. I expected a few bucks stuffed into cards etc, nothing much but my family gave me a significant amount of money in Best Buy gift cards :pfff:

Not a huge deal I can still find a good deal (Im looking to spend about 1000$). I need some advice though. I work in IT and know my way around a computer but I find it really hard to stay up to date with the most modern graphics, CPUs, and all the shiny new stuff they can shove into a case.

What should I be looking for? What specs should I look for in a graphics card? (My knowledge pretty much stops at faster = better) I know it should be a dedicated card. What are the hot new CPU models?

Pros + cons?

Maybe a recommendation of a laptop best buy carries?

Solution
Without knowing the purposes you have for this laptop, no one can make rational recommendations. For example, if this is purely for Office-type tasks, web browsing, etc. and long battery life is essential, you'd probably want an E-450. OTOH, if this is to be a desktop replacement, and needs to play games, then you want something with the most powerful graphics you can afford (and save some money to put toward a laptop cooler). Will you use it outdoors? A screen visible in bright light will be needed. Is it for travel? Light weight may be important.
Please provide more information in order to get the most relevant answers.

dharmenparikh

Distinguished
Dec 9, 2011
If you're getting a laptop go with the i7-2620QM or higher. Even i5-2000 series is good. Stay away from the older i7 and i5 series that aren't the 2000 series.

Unfortunately Laptop GPus are light years behind...even the 6990m is really a 6870 from the desktop section...I think you're best bet is a GTX 560m...2gb should be enough.