cant change resolution to 1024 * 768

game_over

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2003
i have a problem regarding my graphics card. i cant view 1024*768 resolution.

i have a samsung syncmaster 3 monitor (50/60hz). i cant find winxp drivers but i have acqquired older drivers.

My mohterboard is GA-7VA. i have 512mb ddr (kingston).

My graphics card is: (nvdia geforce mx 440 128mb ddr made by chaintech). i cant change the refresh rate on this card to optimal instead of default. im using windows xp. there used to be a feature on win 98 where i could change the adapter refresh rate from default to optimal...so if there is such a tool or something else i can do please tell me.

(incase anyone asks...my old ainient graphics card under win 98 used to work fine on 1024 * 768, all i had to do was use the correct driver for the monitor, and change the adapter refresh rate to optimal instead of default).

thanx in advance.

Ghostdog

Distinguished
May 28, 2002
Try un-installing the drivers for your graphics card and then re-installing them. Use a fairly new driver-revision.
Also install more recent drivers for your monitor.
Some drivers can be found <A HREF="http://www.samsung.com/Products/Monitor/support/Download/driver/index.htm" target="_new">here</A>, although I didn´t find your monitor there. Have a look.

<font color=red>I´m starting to feel like a real computer consultant.</font color=red>

phial

Splendid
Oct 29, 2002
yes sounds like a driver problem ..

are you stuck at 640x480? ouch hope your not

i too suddgest to mess with your drivers. write down what video card you have and try to download XP compliant drivers because 95% of the time windows98 drivers dont work in XP

-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-

<A HREF="http://www.xgr.com" target="_new">XGR-Game Reviews</A>

My friends Gaming Review Site. Check it out.
"You change the channel, and you change our minds..." - System of a Down

game_over

Distinguished
Apr 25, 2003