dinkster9

Distinguished
Jun 27, 2001
As anyone living in the united states, especially the pacific northwest, knows, the state of oregon is in a financial crisis. We have some stupid abscure law that states that we can't operate in a deficite, even for a few years (lol, even though budgets are planned years in advance, when monies coming in change, we are screwed). Almost all of our state revenue is based on income taxes, but our unemployment rates are like at 10% or something. Bascially its impossible to get a job and everyone is being laid off. So guess what, the retail market is also hurting pretty bad, seems like no one wants to go to circuit city and plunk down 10k for a plasma tv these days. BOHOO!. Cry me a river you stupid retail outlets.

How does this relate to Video cards? well, i do all my shopping online (except for parishable foods). I'm a broke college student so saving 50%-80% on something is important to me. I live for auction sites for random stuff and PriceWatch for all my computer needs. What i don't understand is why people still go to retail outlets for computer stuff especially. I went into circuit city the other day and "rented" a 9500pro for 225 bucks. The same exact card i can get online for 175 shipped to my door. It aint worth 50 bucks to support my local economy to me. I sometimes offer to give them the chance to do business with me by trying to work out a deal, but usually they "only match other stores in town prices." How stupid of them, they buy the card for around the same price other retailers buy the card for, so if i'm willing to buy it, they are still making a profit off me, say of 70 bucks instead of 150 bucks, but they are hurting for customers so much, why arn't they more willing to do this? 1/2 the stores in my town have gone belly up. major stores, emplorium, k-mart, motgomery wards, and some others. But i don't feel sorry for them, i've worked in retail before, they don't need a 300% markup to make a profit, they are just