is a CAD card necessary?

peterfagg

Distinguished
May 13, 2003
I'm an automotive engineering student in the UK, and part of my course involves using EDS Solid Edge program (think cut-down Unigraphics).

I'm wondering whether to upgrade, but on a limited budget. Would a CAD card be worth it? What about a convert from the equivalent gaming card (eg rivatuner)? Or would my money (£200 tops) be best spent elsewhere to get more usable performance in other non-cad applications?

I'm running a 2000+, in an ASUS A7S333 + 512pc2100 and a radeon 7500 with a 19" monitor running at 1400x1050 (all my eyes can handle!). Everything seems to run fast enough (given the limited budget), apart from serious cad usage.

Thanks

Peter

cleeve

Illustrious
I'm not sure about other CAD programs, but there are lots of video card comparisons for 3dsMAX. Xbitlabs in particular does some very good comparisons.

They suggest that the Nvidia Geforce4 Ti's are the best price/performance solution for professionally optimized OpenGL drivers. And it really does make a difference...

Have a look at these numbers, keeping in mind the Radeon 7500 is far inferior to the worst performing card reviewed, the Radeon 9500:

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/3dsmax5-atiprof.html

http://www.xbitlabs.com/articles/video/display/3dsmax5-atiprof_2.html

- Cleeve

peterfagg

Distinguished
May 13, 2003
I'm fairly capable with computers - I could manage installing the SoftFire bits over the top of an ATI 9500 Pro to create a Fire Z1 or X1. Would it be worth my while do you think from the graphs? A TI card wouldn't let me have this opportunity.

Both the TI 4800 SE and the 9500 Pro (Sapphire built, not ATI) are about £125, so within budget!

Would this be a sensible mod?

Cheers, Peter

PS VIVO would be preferable on any card as I may use it connected to a playstation2 soon!<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by peterfagg on 05/13/03 05:35 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

voelser

Distinguished
May 12, 2003