IT Majors - Why calculus?!

Mandersoon

Honorable
Sep 21, 2012
Hey everyone,

So I've been doing a LOT of flip-flopping with my major. Currently, I'm wanting to be an IT major. I'm currently a Service Tech at my nearby electronics store, and I enjoy doing the work - I just don't enjoy the actual store. But that's beside the point. I was originally a CS major - but my specific conflict has been with math.

I just CAN'T do math - it's beyond just saying "Ehhh, it's too hard" or "I don't like it". It's not something I can comprehend easily - it just doesn't make sense to me. I can do algebra pretty easily - but once you go beyond that I won't understand a thing.

Herein lies my dilemma: Nearly every single place I can find that HAS an IT major or essentially anything related to IT requires me to have calculus - which means that I need a bit more than a whole year(5 quarters) of Math. Considering that I'm in a Pre-Calculus 1 class and failing miserably at it (I failed it once already last quarter), I need to make a decision/figure stuff out before I make the same mistake again and screw up my GPA.

Here's where I reach out to the community: Where would I go to get an IT degree that A) Isn't a For-Profit college of the likes of ITT, University of the Phoenix, etc. and B) Doesn't require Calculus.

usmarine1979

Honorable
Feb 10, 2013
I know it's been a while since you posted, but I hope I can help a little.

Let me start w/ a question:

What is your goal with your degree? What do you want to do?

If your goal is simply to work in IT, and not be a developer/architect etc al, you might consider a business degree like a business management IT. I'm currently working on a double MBA @ Western Governor's University (Regionally and Nationally Accredited) which is a NON PROFIT organization and all online.