GF2 Ti or GF4 440MX?

Chua

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2003
Hi all! I am new to the GPU world.
My computer specs were originally to be a P4 2.4GHz 512 MB RAM, MSI 6566E Motherboard) had a nVidia GF4 440MX. But while setting up the system, my vendor told me that the GF4 440MX card had some 'compatibility problems', and so offered to change my GPU into a GF2 Ti.
He claimed that it had better or at par performance with the original GF4 440 MX Card.
Since he changed it early today, I've came online to read as many articles I can regarding these two cards. While performance-wise, the vendor had been right to say that the two perform nearly the same based on many web-sites doing a benchmarking test.

But I'm not sure whether I've been shortchanged or not. Should I insist on using back the GF4 440MX card, or should I retain the GF2 Ti ( the vendor says that I can change it back if I'm not happy).Is there and advantage by using a GF4 card, compared to the GF2 Ti? Can someone help me here?
Thank you very much.

cec

Quetzacoatl

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2002
The Gf2 Ti and Gf4 Mx440 are almost literally the same card, both based on the venerable Geforce2 GTS core. Compatability, he is seriously just bullshitting you about, as they both run on 4x agp (although admittedly, newer Mx440's do agp 8x, which doesn't do a whole lot of good anyway). Performance wise, they are about the same, although some Mx440's are faster due to slightly better memory. Stick with either card, you won't see any reasonably higher or lower performance.

I want to see an <font color=blue>Ati Radeon 99999 Ultra Pro</font color=blue>, based on the <font color=red>AtiRage core</font color=red>. And people wonder how a <font color=purple>Geforce3</font color=purple> is better than a <font color=orange>Geforce4 Mx...</font color=orange>

Emberghost

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2003