Acer Aspire 5741 No power or lights

Status
Not open for further replies.

bryce1733

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2012
Hi im new to these forms but was hoping to get some help with my acer aspire 5741. The laptop is completely apart, and im pretty technical. when plugged in and/or with battery in there is now power, no lights, nothing. I checked the Power jack and i am getting 19 volts coming through. normally when plugged in a light comes on, but there is no light. the power brick is green and the laptop is getting power through the dc jack. i am really stuck on this and dont want to buy a new laptop. what should i do?

bryce1733

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2012
apart as in motherboard out of the case, so i took the top and bottom covers off, and the lcd. only thing connected to the motherboard right now is a cpu and cooling system (yes i had ram in when starting up)

Hi :)

If you have no experience on repairing laptops.....do this....

Very carefully collect all the pieces and every screw and take it to a local laptop repair company and pay them to fix it....

A laptop is NOT a PC....you cannot just strip it down and put it back together and expect it to work again unless you do it for a living...as I do...

All the best Brett :)

bryce1733

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2012
do you have any tips or any help at all brett? it would be greatly appreciated. im not trying to be ignorant, i simply would like to do this myself as i believe i can and do not want to spend 250 dollars on a new motherboard when the laptop cost 350.

G

I am a computer technician as well and it does sound like you know what you are doing. If you managed to get the mainboard out, test voltage after the jack at the board, you have ruled out the easy fixes. Only other possibility besides mainboard is cmos battery. I have seen a dead one do wierd things. Other that I would do ebay for used mb if the cost isn't too high. Good luck

bryce1733

Distinguished
Feb 11, 2012