Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question

Interesting Stack question

Tags:
  • Games
  • Video Games
Last response: in PC Gaming
Anonymous
July 22, 2004 5:19:11 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Situation is, I have a Femeref Enchantress in play. I also have a Sterling
Grove in play.

It is my opponents turn and he targets my Femeref Enchantress with a
Blaze, enough "X" paid into it to kill.

In response to his announced spell, which is currently on the stack, I tap "1"
and sacrifice the Sterling Grove before the Enchantress is toasted.

So, the question is, how do the things above go on the stack, and in other
words, will my draw from the Enchantress allow me to draw the card I chose to
put on top of library after sacrificing the Grove as an ability?

I'm thinking that I _would_ draw the card I chose from sacrifice of the Grove.

Here are the cards in question:

Femeref Enchantress
Color= Multi Type= Creature - Enchantress Cost= GW VI(R)
Text (VI+errata): 1/2. ; Whenever an enchantment is put into a graveyard from
play, draw a card. [Oracle 2003/02/01]

Sterling Grove
Color= Multi Type= Enchantment Cost= GW IN(U)
Text (IN): All other enchantments you control can't be the targets of spells or
abilities. ; {1},Sacrifice ~this~: Search your library for an enchantment card
and reveal that card. Shuffle your library, then put the card on top of it.

Blaze
Color= Red Type= Sorcery Cost= XR PT(U)/P2(U)/P3(U)/6(U)/7(U)/8(U)
Text (6th/7th/8th): ~this~ deals X damage to target creature or player.

More about : interesting stack question

Anonymous
July 22, 2004 5:19:12 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On 22 Jul 2004 01:19:11 GMT, LBradH <lbradh@aol.commmono> wrote:
>Situation is, I have a Femeref Enchantress in play. I also have a Sterling
>Grove in play.

Okay. If you sac the Grove, the Enchantress triggers.

>It is my opponents turn and he targets my Femeref Enchantress with a
>Blaze, enough "X" paid into it to kill.

Okay. This isn't stopped by the Grove, as she's not an enchantment.

>In response to his announced spell, which is currently on the stack, I tap "1"
>and sacrifice the Sterling Grove before the Enchantress is toasted.

Okay. This triggers the Enchantress' ability.

>So, the question is, how do the things above go on the stack, and in other
>words, will my draw from the Enchantress allow me to draw the card I chose to
>put on top of library after sacrificing the Grove as an ability?

No.

The Blaze was already on the stack; the Grove ability goes on the stack on
top of it, as the first step in announcing the ability. Several steps-of-
announcement later, you actually pay the activation cost, and sac the Grove;
this triggers the FE ability. It can't go on the stack until you're done
announcing the Grove ability, so it goes on on TOP of the Grove ability ...
and thus resolves first. First you draw a card; next you search-and-put-on-
top-of-library; finally the Enchantress gets Blazed.

>I'm thinking that I _would_ draw the card I chose from sacrifice of the Grove.

Nope. The Enchantress' ability doesn't trigger BEFORE you announce the Grove
ability, so doesn't go on the stack UNDER the Grove ability. It goes on on
top of it, so resolves first; you draw before the Grove ability can resolve at
all.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
Anonymous
July 22, 2004 5:19:12 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

LBradH wrote:

> Situation is, I have a Femeref Enchantress in play. I also have a
> Sterling Grove in play.
>
> It is my opponents turn and he targets my Femeref Enchantress with a
> Blaze, enough "X" paid into it to kill.
>
> In response to his announced spell, which is currently on the stack, I tap
> "1" and sacrifice the Sterling Grove before the Enchantress is toasted.
>
> So, the question is, how do the things above go on the stack, and in other
> words, will my draw from the Enchantress allow me to draw the card I chose
> to put on top of library after sacrificing the Grove as an ability?
>
> I'm thinking that I _would_ draw the card I chose from sacrifice of the
> Grove.

Unfortunately, you're thinking wrong. The Enchantress's ability is
triggered by the Grove's sacrifice, but it can't go on the stack
until activation of the Grove's ability is finished and on the
stack itself. Therefore, the Enchantress's triggered ability goes
on the stack above the Grove's activated ability, and resolves
first, *before* the resolution of the Grove's ability searches
your deck.
>
> Here are the cards in question:
>
> Femeref Enchantress
> Color= Multi Type= Creature - Enchantress Cost= GW VI(R)
> Text (VI+errata): 1/2. ; Whenever an enchantment is put into a graveyard
> from play, draw a card. [Oracle 2003/02/01]
>
> Sterling Grove
> Color= Multi Type= Enchantment Cost= GW IN(U)
> Text (IN): All other enchantments you control can't be the targets of
> spells or abilities. ; {1},Sacrifice ~this~: Search your library for an
> enchantment card and reveal that card. Shuffle your library, then put the
> card on top of it.
>
> Blaze
> Color= Red Type= Sorcery Cost= XR PT(U)/P2(U)/P3(U)/6(U)/7(U)/8(U)
> Text (6th/7th/8th): ~this~ deals X damage to target creature or player.

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
Related resources
Anonymous
July 22, 2004 5:30:01 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

I didnt state my question very well. I -know- that I will be able to draw a
card in the mentioned situation.

The question is, will the Femeref Encahntress allow me to draw the card I
picked upon sacrificing the Sterling Grove, or will I have to draw a card
_before_ placing the chosen card from the Grove on top of the library.

So the issues at hand on the stack are:
1. Blaze targets Femeref Enchantress
2. Sacrifice Sterling Grove for its ability
to search library and pick an enchantment
to place on top of library
3. Draw a card from Enchantresses
triggered ability when the sacrificed
Grove leave play to graveyard.

Will it happen -just- like that? i.e. I
draw a card, then search library, then
enchantress dies?
Anonymous
July 22, 2004 5:30:02 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

LBradH <lbradh@aol.commmono> wrote:

> I didnt state my question very well. I -know- that I will be able to draw a
> card in the mentioned situation.
>
> The question is, will the Femeref Encahntress allow me to draw the card I
> picked upon sacrificing the Sterling Grove, or will I have to draw a card
> _before_ placing the chosen card from the Grove on top of the library.
>
> So the issues at hand on the stack are:
> 1. Blaze targets Femeref Enchantress
> 2. Sacrifice Sterling Grove for its ability
> to search library and pick an enchantment
> to place on top of library
> 3. Draw a card from Enchantresses
> triggered ability when the sacrificed
> Grove leave play to graveyard.
>
> Will it happen -just- like that? i.e. I
> draw a card, then search library, then
> enchantress dies?

Yes. The Blaze is at the bottom of the stack. The Sterling Grove
ability you responded with is above it. And the Femeref Enchantress
ability that triggered when you played the Sterling Grove ability is
above that and will resolve before the other two.
--
Daniel W. Johnson
panoptes@iquest.net
http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
Anonymous
July 22, 2004 5:30:02 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

On 22 Jul 2004 01:30:01 GMT, LBradH <lbradh@aol.commmono> wrote:
>The question is, will the Femeref Encahntress allow me to draw the card I
>picked upon sacrificing the Sterling Grove, or will I have to draw a card
>_before_ placing the chosen card from the Grove on top of the library.

You draw before the Grove ability can resolve.

>So the issues at hand on the stack are:
>1. Blaze targets Femeref Enchantress
>2. Sacrifice Sterling Grove for its ability
>to search library and pick an enchantment
>to place on top of library
>3. Draw a card from Enchantresses
>triggered ability when the sacrificed
>Grove leave play to graveyard.

And (upside-down) that is how they are arranged on the stack; the FE ability
resolves first, the Grove ability next, and finally the Blaze.

>Will it happen -just- like that? i.e. I
>draw a card, then search library, then enchantress dies?

Just like that, yes. (Sorry.)

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.