Confusion in the Ranks

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

There seems to be some confusion in the ranks about this card! When
Confusion in the Ranks is put into play, can it be exchanged with an opponent
for one of their enchantments (Worship for instance)? Or, does it wait for the
next enchantment to be put into play for the trade to take place?
3 answers Last reply
More about confusion ranks
  1. Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

    fshrly834@cs.com (Fshrly834) writes:
    > There seems to be some confusion in the ranks about this card!
    > When Confusion in the Ranks is put into play, can it be exchanged
    > with an opponent for one of their enchantments (Worship for
    > instance)?

    ,----[ Oracle ]
    | Confusion in the Ranks
    | {3}{R}{R}
    | Enchantment
    | Whenever an artifact, creature, or enchantment comes into play, its
    | controller chooses target permanent another player controls that
    | shares a type with it. Exchange control of those permanents.
    `----

    Not only *can* it be exchanged for an opponent's enchantment, it has
    to be if possible.

    Things that trigger on "When X comes into play" trigger on themselves
    if they fit qualification X. This is normally the case with a
    comes-into-play effect (such as "When Staunch Defenders comes into
    play, you gain 4 life."), but it works just as well when it's a more
    general qualification (such as Confusion's).

    Note that local enchantments are still enchantments, so you could for
    example steal control of someone's Spirit Link when Confusion comes
    into play. (This doesn't let you move what the enchantment is on; it
    just would let you gain the life instead of your opponent on damage
    dealing in Spirit Link's case.)

    > Or, does it wait for the next enchantment to be put into play for
    > the trade to take place?

    Well, it's going to want to trade on the next enchantment as
    well. Makes for interesting games.

    --
    Peter C.
    "Never eat more than you can lift."
    -- Miss Piggy
  2. Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

    Fshrly834 <fshrly834@cs.com> wrote:

    > There seems to be some confusion in the ranks about this card! When
    > Confusion in the Ranks is put into play, can it be exchanged with an
    > opponent for one of their enchantments (Worship for instance)? Or, does
    > it wait for the next enchantment to be put into play for the trade to take
    > place?

    Confusion in the Ranks
    {3}{R}{R}
    Enchantment
    Whenever an artifact, creature, or enchantment comes into play, its
    controller chooses target permanent another player controls that shares
    a type with it. Exchange control of those permanents.

    Why would it wait for some other enchantment to be put into play?

    1) The active player gets priority and plays the Confusion in the Ranks
    spell.
    2) The active player gets priority and passes.
    3) The opponent gets priority and passes.
    4) The top item on the stack (Confusion in the Ranks) resolves and
    enters play, triggering its comes-into-play ability.
    5) The active player would get priority, but the triggered ability goes
    on the stack. The active player chooses an enchantment controlled by
    the opponent as its target.
    6) The active player gets priority and passes.
    7) The opponent gets priority and passes.
    8) The top item on the stack (the triggered ability) resolves. Control
    of Confusion in the Ranks and the target chosen in (5) is exchanged.

    410.10a Comes-into-play abilities trigger when a permanent enters the
    in-play zone. These are written, "When [this card] comes into play, . .
    .. " or "Whenever a [type] comes into play, . . ." Each time an event
    puts one or more permanents into play, all permanents in play (including
    the newcomers) are checked for any comes-into-play triggers that match
    the event.
    --
    Daniel W. Johnson
    panoptes@iquest.net
    http://members.iquest.net/~panoptes/
    039 53 36 N / 086 11 55 W
  3. Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

    On 24 Jul 2004 15:34:04 GMT, Fshrly834 <fshrly834@cs.com> wrote:
    > There seems to be some confusion in the ranks about this card! When
    >Confusion in the Ranks is put into play, can it be exchanged with an opponent
    >for one of their enchantments (Worship for instance)? Or, does it wait for the
    >next enchantment to be put into play for the trade to take place?

    It doesn't say anything about "Whenever another...", so yes, it will trigger
    off of itself coming into play just fine, and cause itself to be exchanged with
    target permanent another player controls that shares a type with it. (Works
    better with Mycosynth Lattice or Opalescence, obviously.)

    Dave
    --
    \/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
    It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
    Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
    http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
Ask a new question

Read More

Games Video Games