Looking for networkbased imaging system

Tags:
  • Management
  • Software
  • Business Computing
Last response: in Business Computing
June 28, 2012 10:03:47 AM

Hi there

I work as an IT technician at a school where our students work very project based.

This means that about every half year during the holidays, I have to update windows and software packages on about 60 machines.
All the machines are locally at the school, and on a domain.

This year a lot of problems have been cropping up, so I´d like to reinstall windows and the software from the beginning.
But doing this on so many machines is very time consuming.

On top of that, we are expanding our school to incorporate almost 200 new student in a few years, witch will all have computers provided by us.

I have used some imaging software out here before (Zenn works) but our license ran out and I wasn't really pleased enough with it to keep it running.

The biggest hurdle is that a lot of the machines are different models.
Most of them are from Dell, but there are many different kinds, both dektops and laptops.
This means many different drivers for the different hardware configurations.

There is also a software issue.
Many big packages such as Adobe and Autodesk are on the machines, but only a select few per team. (Not enough licenses).
These take a long time to install, and running between computers to press install and finish is a lot of work.
I have made different images before with and without the software installed, but keeping them up to date with windows updates, antivirus software and such is a hassle.

I have heard some talk about ".MSI pushing" software, that might be very handy, especially with the software part.

Does anyone have any suggestions of imaging software or MSI pushers?
Or maybe some experience you would like to share?

Money is an object, since we are a public institution.
But if I can argue well enough for a purchase, a lot can be acquired.

Thanks for your time
Sincerely
Jon