Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Does a Soul of Magma trigger its own ability when it comes..

Last response: in Video Games
Share
Anonymous
November 21, 2004 3:41:50 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Is a creature in play when its cip ability triggers? Or, phrased in a more
specific way:

Does a Soul of Magma' trigger its own ability when it comes into play?

Soul of Magma
3RR
Creature - Spirit
(Whenever you play a spirit or arcane spell, Soul of Magma deals 1 damage to
target creature or player.)
Anonymous
November 21, 2004 4:33:56 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

War_Pig5 <dontsendjunk2me@hotmail.com> wrote:
>Is a creature in play when its cip ability triggers?

Yes, but:

>Or, phrased in a more specific way:
>
>Does a Soul of Magma' trigger its own ability when it comes into play?

No.

>Soul of Magma >3RR >Creature - Spirit
>(Whenever you play a spirit or arcane spell, Soul of Magma deals 1 damage to
>target creature or player.)

This says nothing - NOTHING - about anything coming into play.

What this says is a triggered ability that triggers when you PLAY A SPELL.

Playing a spell is announcing it. Playing an ability is announcing it. Playing
a land is announcing that you're putting it into play with your special lay-a-
land action and doing so. "Playing" something NEVER has anything to do,
directly, with something coming into play.

Soul of Magma, when you play it, goes from your hand to the stack and you
pay 3RR. It isn't anywhere near the in-play zone when this happens; its
ability is not "on" yet; and, to boot, generally nothing is coming into play
as you do this (though, depending on where you are getting the 3RR from,
something might LEAVE play).

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
Anonymous
November 21, 2004 4:35:01 PM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

No.

To trigger Soul of Magma must be in play. And once in play, the spell
(Soul of Magma) as already been played so there is nothing to trigger
the ability.

War_Pig5 wrote:
> Is a creature in play when its cip ability triggers? Or, phrased in a more
> specific way:
>
> Does a Soul of Magma' trigger its own ability when it comes into play?
>
> Soul of Magma
> 3RR
> Creature - Spirit
> (Whenever you play a spirit or arcane spell, Soul of Magma deals 1 damage to
> target creature or player.)
>
>
Anonymous
November 22, 2004 2:49:01 PM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

War_Pig5 wrote:

> Is a creature in play when its cip ability triggers?

Yes.

> Or, phrased in a more
> specific way:
>
> Does a Soul of Magma' trigger its own ability when it comes into play?

Er, Soul of Magma doesn't *have* a "comes into play" trigger. It has
a "when you play X" trigger. Soul of Magma is *not* in play when
you're playing it, so, no, it does not trigger its own ability when
it is played. Nothing on the card would trigger when it comes into
play, or when anything else comes into play.
>
> Soul of Magma
> 3RR
> Creature - Spirit
> (Whenever you play a spirit or arcane spell, Soul of Magma deals 1 damage
> to target creature or player.)

--
Christopher Mattern

"Which one you figure tracked us?"
"The ugly one, sir."
"...Could you be more specific?"
!