Sign in with
Your question

Reusing a Win 7 Dell OEM disk on a rebuilt Dell

Last response: in Windows 7
June 15, 2010 4:01:30 PM

I purchased a Dell Desktop when Win 7 first became available from the Mfgs. The other day the computer quit. Would do nothing. Pulled the hard drive and placed it into another machine as a slave to see if it worked it didn't. checked power supply it was OK but MOBO was also gone. I checked with Dell, machine out of warranty and their price for replacement parts was more than a new computer. My question is: Can I purchase new MOBO for the processor(it checked out OK) and a new HDD and reuse the OEM disk on the rebuilt Dell? I paid for the software once when I got the orginal computer. Thanks in advance for any assistance.
a b $ Windows 7
June 15, 2010 5:32:43 PM

I'm not a lawyer nor have I fully read the agreement but Installed for use on one computer. If I were in the jury I could not find you guilty of anything, especially against the giant MS. Hopefully one of the Microsoft people on here will step up.
m
l
June 15, 2010 6:06:33 PM

Try the website below. It sells surplus dell hardware including motherboards. If you have a dell motherboard you can use your W7 installation disc.

http://www.discountelectronics.com/index.php

Legally the installation disc you have is for the dell hardware you purchase. But again as stated Dell W7 installation disc work on any dell HW.
m
l
Related resources
a c 395 $ Windows 7
June 15, 2010 7:35:58 PM

Dell oem discs are tied to the motherboards,it will not activate on a new motherboard!
m
l
a b $ Windows 7
June 15, 2010 8:07:25 PM

I have to agree with area51reopened on this one. OEM versions of Windows 7 are less expensive than full retail or upgrade versions because they come pre-installed on a new computer. It is a package deal. This means the OEM Windows 7 you have is tied to your computer and cannot be transferred.

Hope this makes sense!

Cassandra
Microsoft Windows Outreach
m
l
a b $ Windows 7