Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Death Cloud

Last response: in Video Games
Share
Anonymous
May 16, 2005 5:06:39 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hello,

I am on Zero Life, and my opponent is on Five Life, I have a Platinum Angel
in Play, and he has a "non-significant Creature", If I were to cast a death
Cloud for Five, making him Lose five life before I have to Sacrifice my
Platinum Angel, will he die before me?, or will I have to wait for the whole
spell to resolve, killing both of us?

Thank you
Jonathan Fourie TO

More about : death cloud

Anonymous
May 16, 2005 5:06:40 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Jonathan Fourie <jonathan@jonREMOVEathan.za.net> wrote:
>I am on Zero Life, and my opponent is on Five Life,

Then...

>I have a Platinum Angel in Play,

....oh, no problem then.

>and he has a "non-significant Creature", If I were to cast a death
>Cloud for Five, making him Lose five life before I have to Sacrifice my
>Platinum Angel, will he die before me?, or will I have to wait for the whole
>spell to resolve, killing both of us?

State-based effects won't be checked for until after the spell is entirely
done resolving, and "players with 0 or less life lose the game" is a state-
based effect. So yes, your Angel will be gone, and both of you will be at 0
or less life, the next time this is checked for, so the game will end as a
draw.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
May 16, 2005 5:21:58 PM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

You will have to wait for the spell to resolve completely. The
state-based effect will only take effect when a player get priority,
which is after the spell resolves.

GG


Jonathan Fourie wrote:
> Hello,
>
> I am on Zero Life, and my opponent is on Five Life, I have a Platinum Angel
> in Play, and he has a "non-significant Creature", If I were to cast a death
> Cloud for Five, making him Lose five life before I have to Sacrifice my
> Platinum Angel, will he die before me?, or will I have to wait for the whole
> spell to resolve, killing both of us?
>
> Thank you
> Jonathan Fourie TO
>
>
!