Help picking out a gaming laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

newbie_gamer

Honorable
Feb 24, 2012
Well I'm new to the PC gaming world, but would like to join my friends who have all gone exclusively PC. I'm going to be going to college soon, so I need a laptop. Longevity is my primary concern over performance, I honestly don't mind playing on minimum settings at 30 fps or so, I would just like to play the latest games for (preferably) 3-5 years. I wouldn't mind having to upgrade some parts down the line if I need to as long as it isn't ridiculously expensive (more than $500 or so).

General Questions

1) What is your budget? $1500 or less

2) What size notebook would you prefer?

Around 15" but willing to sacrifice for performance or price

3) Where will you buying this notebook?
U.S.

4) Are there any brands that you prefer or any you really don't like?
nope

5) Would you consider laptops that are refurbished/redistributed?
Yes.

6) What are the primary tasks will you be performing with this notebook?
gaming/net browsing

7) Will you be taking the notebook with you to different places, leaving it on your desk or both?
mostly staying on the desk, occasionally taking it with me places.

8) Will you be playing games on your notebook? If so, please state which games or types of games?
The latest games (bf3, etc) and any new games for preferably 4 or 5 years on at least low with 30fps.

9) How many hours of battery life do you need?
Very few, mostly going to be used on wired power

10) Would you prefer to see the notebooks you're considering before purchasing it or buying a notebook on-line without seeing it is OK?
I don't need to see it in person.

11) What OS do you prefer? Windows (XP or Vista or Windows 7), Mac OS, Linux, etc.
windows 7

Screen Specifics

12) From the choices below, what screen resolution(s) would you prefer?