Sign in with
Sign up | Sign in
Your question

Oboro, Palace in the Clouds and Shifting Borders

Last response: in Video Games
Share
Anonymous
June 28, 2005 7:08:24 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Hi everybody,

I would like to check if this is legal. Assuming I have enough mana and
an Oboro, Palace in the Clouds in play, I activate Oboro, Palace in the
Clouds' ability. When it is in the stack, I play Shifting Borders,
targetting Oboro and one of my opponent lands. Assuming nothing else is
played, in the end, will Oboro end up in my hand and my opponent's land
under my control?

I understand that, if I do it the other way around, that is, Shifting
Borders first and then activate Oboro's ability, Oboro will end up in my
hand but no land exchange occurs as Shifting Borders will be countered
upon resolution.

Oboro, Palace in the Clouds
Legendary Land
Tap: Add (U) to your mana pool.
(1): Return Oboro, Palace in the Clouds to it's owner hand.

Shifting Borders
(3)(U)
Instant - Arcane
Exchange control of two target lands.
Splice onto Arcane - (3)(U)

Thanks in advance!
Anonymous
June 28, 2005 7:08:25 AM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Francisco Ho <fxho@yahoo.com> wrote:
>I would like to check if this is legal. Assuming I have enough mana and
>an Oboro, Palace in the Clouds in play, I activate Oboro, Palace in the
>Clouds' ability. When it is in the stack, I play Shifting Borders,
>targetting Oboro and one of my opponent lands. Assuming nothing else is
>played, in the end, will Oboro end up in my hand and my opponent's land
>under my control?

....Yes, _in that order_ it will, because this exchanges control of the two
lands before trying to return Oboro, and because Oboro doesn't say it
cares who controls it on resolution, it just says to return it to owner's
hand.

>I understand that, if I do it the other way around, that is, Shifting
>Borders first and then activate Oboro's ability, Oboro will end up in my
>hand but no land exchange occurs

Correct.

>as Shifting Borders will be countered upon resolution.

Er, not correct; this spell has TWO targets, and one will still be legal.
That means it will resolve, but not affect the illegal target at all. AND
there's a rule specially for such situations - trying to exchange two
things, one of which is no longer there - that says the exchange does not
take place under those conditions, regardless of targetting considerations.
(It's in the Glossary under "Exchange".)

So yes, no exchange happens, but no, not because the spell is countered.

Dave
--
\/David DeLaney posting from dbd@vic.com "It's not the pot that grows the flower
It's not the clock that slows the hour The definition's plain for anyone to see
Love is all it takes to make a family" - R&P. VISUALIZE HAPPYNET VRbeable<BLINK>
http://www.vic.com/~dbd/ - net.legends FAQ & Magic / I WUV you in all CAPS! --K.
Anonymous
June 28, 2005 2:32:27 PM

Archived from groups: rec.games.trading-cards.magic.rules (More info?)

Francisco Ho <fxho@yahoo.com> wrote:

> will Oboro end up in my hand and my opponent's land
> under my control?

It would seem to be okay.
Shifting Borders resolves and exchanges the lands. Then, Oboro's ability
resolves and returns it to its owner's hand (namely, you).
Cool combo.

- ∞

--
I miei post non sbagliano. E' la realta' ad essere inesatta.
!