Former IBMer Finally Starts Work at Apple

Status
Not open for further replies.

tenor77

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2009
Normally I find non-compete clauses just wrong. In college I worked as a manager of a pizza joint. I quit and started working for a different place and the douche tried to pull this kind of crap on me. Like I knew some great secret. It's pizza man!

That said if this guy knows tech secrets I can understand why IBM is upset.

JMcEntegart

Splendid
Aug 25, 2007
[citation][nom]tenor77[/nom]Normally I find non-compete clauses just wrong. In college I worked as a manager of a pizza joint. I quit and started working for a different place and the douche tried to pull this kind of crap on me. Like I knew some great secret. It's pizza man!That said if this guy knows tech secrets I can understand why IBM is upset.[/citation]

Haha, that made my day.

hemelskonijn

Distinguished
Oct 8, 2008
It might be strange but this kind of stuff still amazes me.

Here in the Netherlands asking some one to sign a non-compete would probally not be legal, or at least it wont hold up in court.

If i signed it and my current employer switches to an other platform it would be likely i would get fired because the re-education costs way more than pulling a fresh kid from school.
A non-compete would then mean i cant do any sysadmin or system engineering or for that mater all-round tech employee work ever again ?

JMcEntegart

Splendid
Aug 25, 2007