welcome me to the linux club!!

alltaken

Distinguished
Jan 14, 2003
ok i finally installed linux MANDRAKE 9.1 (third time lucky LOL)

anyway i finally worked out how to do it after a lot of hassles.

i am in KDE right now and was wondering a few things (SUPER NEWBIE HERE.... LOL....but not a dumb one)

i was wondering how i could switch to Gnome just to see it and see which i prefer.

i was wondering how to place an icon of a directory on my desktop because currently they are all under the /mnt/win_c blah blah blah

and i was wanting to be able to quickly access these files between the XP and Linux OS'S

i was wondering how i can access my home nework, i am running a default XP home network which shares a 56K line and was wondering if i could access the network, then from there access the internet (a dial in comand would be needed as currently i connect to the internet by pressing a button which asks the other computer to connect/disconnect)

Hmmmmmm yeah pretty much all the other things i think i can work out fine by myself (or ask when things arise)

oh yeha

YAY mandrake comes with GIMP pre-loaded (that is cool coz i have it on my XP OS and can use it between them both YE-HA)

ok thanks for any help

Alltaken

Stick_e_Mouse

Distinguished
Jun 28, 2001
>>i was wondering how i could switch to Gnome just to see it and see which i prefer.

Depends. If you have X started automatically, then KDE should load it's "desktop loader" automatically. There, you should be able to pick whatever desktop environment you want. If you chose to not start X automatically, you can type the following at the command prompt:
<pre>startx gnome</pre><p>>>i was wondering how to place an icon of a directory on my desktop because currently they are all under the /mnt/win_c blah blah blah

I don't use KDE, but can't you just drag-n-drop. Or right click and choose "make shortcut" or "make alias"??? If you want to create sym-link using the command prompt, you can do the following: