Sign in with
Your question
Closed

CPU

Last response: in Laptops & Notebooks
April 18, 2012 7:33:34 AM

I've been building desktops for forever and this is my first time choosing a laptop.
I want to start with CPUs and her is my first question:

My laptop is to be used for school - a lot of little applications at the same time (non of them is heavy - Visual Studio is the serious one). Basically you can say - office and internet use.

• My strategy is first to decide between AMD and Intel and then choose a processor within that brand.

1. Does that strategy sound about right?
    2. How am I to choose between AMD and Intel? Whats the difference (roughly of course)?
  • More about : cpu

April 18, 2012 7:51:53 AM

Im sure you know that when choosing a CPU for a build when it's being used for that purpose is really does not matter one way or the other witch CPU you get..... my vote for Laptops at the moment is For AMD mainly because you mentioned Visual Studio and most Laptops that sport an AMD CPU have a GPU with them Also more bang for your buck
    Score
    a c 572 D Laptop
    a c 203 à CPUs
    April 18, 2012 8:07:03 AM

Hello broshm;

The system requirements for Visual Studio are actually very light.
    Visual Studio 2010 Ultimate: Hardware Requirements

There may be other applications that you'll encounter that have higher requirements?

@ Secolliyn; Have you seen any laptops lately that didn't have a GPU?
    Score
    Related resources
    a c 572 D Laptop
    a c 203 à CPUs
    April 18, 2012 8:14:50 AM

broshm said:
  • My strategy is first to decide between AMD and Intel and then choose a processor within that brand.

1. Does that strategy sound about right?
    2. How am I to choose between AMD and Intel? Whats the difference (roughly of course)?
  • I have an alternative to propose.
    My view is that either brand of CPU will have good options. It's not necessary to choose one over the other at this point.

The first place to start is, I believe,