Macbook pro vs windows laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

vivek17290

Honorable
May 21, 2012
Hello,
I am a college student and I am into app development and web programming..I am looking for a laptop that can handle that with some multi tasking like web browsing and music..I can't handle any more crashes or freezes. I am sick of it. I owned a vaio y and it is the shittiest laptop ever. I am thinking of buying a macbook pro 13.3 core i5, the only thing that bothers me however is..I have heard people tell me apple has issues with adobe and that the flash player crashes frequently. Also I think mac applications are limited..correct me if I am wrong..I would really appreciate if you could help me out with this

Macs are generally problematic for general usage. Other reasons aside, the application suite is... limited to say the least. If you're into app and web development you should get your hands on a decent Asus or Dell laptop and install VMWare Workstation (academic licence is 120 bucks, or you can get the stripped down but mostly just as powerful VMWare Player for free) and fire up your favorite Linux distro and use that for development.

vivek17290

Honorable
May 21, 2012
I have been using ubuntu for quite some time now..and i find it really buggy. Like I was using ubuntu 11.04, there are a lot of hardware compatibility issues with linux distros. Although I would completely agree with u that it is good for development, but then mac os is also based on ubuntu right? I haven't really owned a mac before But i won't be a complete noob. So i think as far as ubuntu is concerned, its not that easy to use, u always need to go through a lot of forums for every small thing u need to fix. When u say macs are generally problematic for general usage..what do u exactly mean?