Help finding a new computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

wizkidalex

Honorable
Feb 22, 2012
Hi everyone, I know that there are probably a ton of posts out there like mine but I just wanted to get a more personal response. Here's the deal, I'm a junior in high school right now and I currently have a craptop HP G60T that I got for Christmas 2009... my dad's an IT pro but I guess he just screwed that one up. I'm looking to buy a new computer this summer or fall that will last me through at least 2 or 3 years of college. I'm looking into engineering, as well as computer science and a bit of video editing on the side. And, of course, gaming. I've been through my fair share of brand-name hunks of junk, so the next computer I buy I want to be good.

I'm a student, but I don't travel very much. I was looking at building my own desktop, but being a student I'd rather have a desktop replacement laptop that I can carry with me when I need to. I've been looking at the Origin EON 17S, the iBuyPower 17" Battalion 101, and other laptops in that category, including ones from Alienware, Samsung Series 7, and Asus (Republic of Gamers line). I'd like to move away from my Xbox and play games like Battlefield 3, ME3, Halo 4 (if available) and other graphically intensive games. I also play older games like TF2 and other Source titles, including Garry's Mod. I do play one MMO; EVE Online (it has spaceships...) and it's pretty graphically intensive. I also play RTS games like Sins of a Solar Empire (and Legends of Pegasus, when it comes out.) I want to try games like Deus Ex: Human Revolution, but I can't, and I'm not going to waste my money on Steam until I can play these games.