GPU vs. Memory Clock

Slava

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2002
Overclocking newbie here. Please be patient :eek:)

(I posted this on OCing forum too, but I see people are being referred from there to this forum ...)

Can someone knowledgeable help me understand the relationship between GPU clock and video card memory clock? I have an nVidia GeForce FX 5700 w/256Mb. In the driver properties I have the ability to overclock both the GPU and memory.

The default GPU clock is 425MHz
The default Memory clock is 501MHZ

How do I raise these clocks optimally?
Is it necessary to raise memory clock for optimal performance or raising GPU clock is enough? (Increasing GPU to anything over 454MHz with memory set to default begins to create occasional visual artifacts.)

Thanks!

Slava

Distinguished
Mar 6, 2002
I am not sure that this is the best way to go.

For example, if I leave GPU at default (425 MHz) and push memory from the default 501 MHz to, say, 550 MHz - I begin to get artifacts, BUT if GPU is at 448 I can push memory to only 515 before I begin to get artifacts.

Also, if I first push GPU to 550 MHz I get no artifacts unless I push memory to at around 510 MHz.

So, there is an obvious relationship between GPU and Mem clock for the purposes of performance and stability.

At this point I have it set up to GPU 448 MHz/Mem 515 MHz

but I wonder if GPU 440/Mem 540 or something like that would be faster overall while remaining stable as it is now.

So, the question stands: what is the relationship between GPU and Memory clocks?

cleeve

Illustrious
THE GPU clock is the processor clock. It will determine how many polygons the video card can handle, and how fast the video card will process advanced effects like shaders.

The memory clock determines the memory bandwidth available between the GPU and the system. This will have an effect on how fast the GPU can be fed new frames & textures, and how fast a video card can use implement antiailiassing, etc.