I5 v. i7, SSD v. HDD, in the test of time?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jxz23

Honorable
Jun 8, 2012
Hello everyone,

I have basic knowledge of laptop components and as a second year Engineering student I have taken a single course in computer science. My laptop entering college was a Toshiba Satellite C655-S5206. I went for cheap and solid (not knowing I would become an engineer), which sadly met its demise from a very small but well placed amount of water, and desperately need a new laptop that will match the capabilities required from multiple large programs, that, most importantly, will stand the test of time. For examples, I have been looking at the Macbook Pros, the Dell XPS 17s, and various others. I am open to many brands, and understand (or think I do) the benefit of having a game card.

Also, I understand that the new i7 processors can use multiple and hyper thread capabilities to essentially double the processing performance of both the i3 and the i5. I understand the step between the i3 and the i5, and also the leap between the i5 and the i7. Some people have told me that the difference between the latter is not effective enough when making decisions based on affordability, but I disagree in the respect of quality over time. In the 5 years I think that having an i5 may be a joke and an i7 will be at least respectable.

Here are my parameters:

1. What is your budget?

1200-2000, but since I am MAINLY looking for durability to match average laptops made 3-5 years from now in the terms of processing speed and RAM, I will look beyond 2000 but not for flare (I understand that MacBook Pros go above this).

2. What is the size of the notebook that you are considering?

At least 15'', preferably 17".

3. What screen resolution do you want?

Like I said, I don't want flare, but modern.

4. Do you need a portable or desktop replacement laptop?

Nope, I have a dell streak tablet (recommend) and cannot afford nor need two laptops.