AIW 9000 Pro or AIW 9200? Help GrapeApe or others!

lingula6

Distinguished
Mar 15, 2004
Hey all, long time reader, first time poster - yeah, i'm a noob. Well, like my sig says at the bottom, i'm not really into gaming very much (may get into it a _little_ in the future), and want to get a good graphics card for good image quality, movie playback, and maybe video editing in the future. Also, i don't really want to spend that much (wanted to go less than $100, but with these options would go to $150). So I figured i'd go with ATI Radeon for the image quality (over let's say a ti4200 for gaming), and that AIW might have some nice features for the future.

So i've narrowed it down to the 9000 Pro and the 9200 AIW cards. Not sure how much different they are except that the 9000 Pro has 64MB RAM and comes with the Remote Wonder, vs 128 RAM on the 9200 and no Remote Wonder. They are selling for about the same price (~150).

Bottom Line Question: Is there any advantage to getting one over the other? Either a newer 9200 AIW over the 9000 Pro (meaning i'd have to buy the remote separately, although i believe there is an inbox coupon for 50% off, making it $25) or are there advantages to having a Pro card (even though it has the RV250 chipset) over a slightly newer generation 9200 card (with the RV280 chipset - not that i really even know what this even means!)?

Also, any idea where i can find the elusive 9200 AIW? Not too many sellers show up online.

ANY help would be greatly appreciated. This site is great!

Dell 400SC, P4 2.4 HT, 1Gig ECC RAM
I'm no gamer

baldurga

Distinguished
Feb 14, 2002
Both 9000 and 9200 are basically the same. They are going to run all games equally, and they are not able to run the same games (for low FPS or non DX9 compatible).

So I will go for the 9000 as this include the remote.