Remote Access

G

Me and my neighbor accross the street are both on the same cable ISP (Road Runner). His server is running Win2k advanced Server (or NT4, he can run either). What we wantr to set up is for me to be able to get into specific shared drives/folders. It would also be nice if I could print to one of his network printers. How would we go about setting this up under either OS? Which would be better?

doczenith1

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
Just run some cat5 cable across the street (make sure to tape it down with duct tape to protect it from car tires) and set up a lan.

Actually, I'm no expert but it sounds like a case for VPN.

G

A cable across the street ?????
lol, i can't stop laughing.....
With duct tape !!!!! ahahahah
Why not using a warning panel for cars that will cross the cable "Please be carefull, cable taped with Duct Tape across the street" lol

G

We already thought about that, but our houses are more than 800 feet apart, so its not an option.

kal326

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
to access a hard drive on the neighbors machine....
\\username\driveletter$
this will prompt for a user name and password. You have to have a account setup on the other machine. Also you must have nt4 or win2k to to this. Win98's networking sucks, it wont work.

The last time I tried to use my imagination, I ended up in a straight jacket! :eek:

Parid

Distinguished
Feb 15, 2001
The problem is that your ISP probably is doing some kind of filtering to disable this kind of stuff. Not nessisarily beacouse they don't want to you to do that, more so beacouse they don't want people to acidentaly share there entrie harddrive with the whole neiborhood.