Cheap laptop with good gpu

Status
Not open for further replies.

nxtst

Honorable
Jun 17, 2012
Hello, my HP dv4 finally gave out on me. It already had a broken screen so I was just using it with a external moniter. I am now having a blank screen when I turn it on and the error code tells me that the cpu is not functioning. I have done a little diagnosing and I believe that it is either the mb and/or the processor that has failed. Since it would be pretty expensive to fix this and the screen was already broken, I have decided to purchase a new laptop and I have come here for advice. First, my budget is under $400. I know this is not very much but from what I understand the gpu is really the only thing that is not upgradable, so I would like a laptop with a good gpu and I plan on upgrading hdd, processor, RAM and other things as finances allow. Am I correct in the belief that this would be the best option? As far as use goes I am a college student so I would use it for schoolwork (ppt, word, etc.), as well as iTunes, internet browsing, dvd playing, and one game that I play regularly. This game is my main concern. It is called MX Simulator (mxsimulator.com). I would like to play this game with relatively high graphics resolution without having to worry about lag and I am clueless as to what I need for this. Any advice would be greatly appreciated and if it seems like I don't know what I am talking about it is because I really don't. So don't be afraid to correct any of my notions. Thanks

Solution