Sign in with
Your question

Problems with linux and 9700pro

Last response: in Linux/Free BSD
Anonymous
June 28, 2003 3:35:56 PM

I have a Radeon 9700pro. Last night I attempted to install Mandrake Linux 9.0, but failed to properly do so. It seems that graphical content cannot be displayed, so I went with the text installation (If i tried normal installation, the screen just goes black and the keyboard lights flash). At one point during the install, I was asked which video card I am using, so i selected the 'Vendor | ATI | Radeon' option. The installation tested this, but the test failed. I tried a few other drivers but none worked, so I just continued the install. Now that Linux is installed, I am unable to reach KDE, Gnome, or any graphical interface. All i get is the prompt.
I am a complete newbie to linux (first time instaling, and only used it twice before). So detailed information on how to proceed would be appreciated.

More about : problems linux 9700pro

Anonymous
June 28, 2003 10:53:15 PM

...anyone?
June 30, 2003 5:09:18 AM

OK. You've got a text prompt, so that's something. There is an official (if "unsupported") ATI 9700 driver somewhere, but I couldn't find it on their website.

Here's a best guess at getting something working:
1) Log in as root, then run XFree86 -configure
2) If it's successful, back up /etc/X11/XF86Config, and copy the freshly generated config to /etc/X11/XF86Config.
3) Type startx and see what happens.
3) If you get an X started, edit /etc/inittab and change the default runlevel from 3 to 5 which should give you a GUI login when you boot.

A couple of other options are as follows:
1) Edit /etc/X11/XF86Config, and try setting the driver to "radeon" or "ati" or "vesa" or
2) Reinstall from scratch and select vesa in 16 bit as the video driver. Hopefully that will be enough to get you started, but keep an eye out for the ATI Radeon 9700 driver.

<i>Knock Knock, Neo</i>
Related resources
June 30, 2003 5:42:00 AM