6800 Review??

DuschBaggins

Distinguished
Apr 16, 2004
I have been visiting Tom's for at least 4 years now but this is the first time I've felt it necessary to post here. I have now read three reviews of nVidia's new flagship card and see some large discrepencies between the reviews. Specifically, Tom's seems to think the card came straight from the heavens while Anand was moderately impressed with it and HardOCP basically said it sucked.

What I find odd is that all three indicate that they used basically the same methods (apps, games, benchmark utils, underlying hardware platform, etc) to review the card. How is it possible that the results were so different?

Agree? Disagree? Am I just a bit 'off'?? It just makes me think that nVidia paid someone a bit on the side or made some deal with the devil in an attempt to revive their existence in the graphic card market.

-Dusch

TheRod

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2002
Reviews are always partially subjective.

I really liked the AnandTech conclusion that compared the <A HREF="http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.html?i=2023" target="_new">GeForce 6800 release</A> to the <A HREF="http://anandtech.com/video/showdoc.html?i=1683&p=1" target="_new">Radeon 9700 release</A>. When you compare benchmark numbers in these 2 articles, you clearly see that the nVidia leap is not that impressive, ATI made the same leap with the Radeon 9700. THG didn't step back to revisit the new-generation GPU reviews they made in the past.

On the other hand, HardOPC have a lot of complains and concerns that will mostly be corrected by drivers updates. They seemed to still think that the 6800 will be the next "FX" with lots of IQ problems. And I don't think it's the case here, because most of their complain are from FarCry.

My vote goes to AnandTech!

--
Would you buy a potato powered chipset?<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by TheRod on 04/19/04 07:59 AM.</EM></FONT></P>